[SOI] BW Control Deck List Updates (Again)

So I never finished the last BW Control post, sorry about that. I ended up losing my notes about that night’s worth of games. But I have stayed on the BW Control path for now, as I’ve been absolutely loving the deck. After Seth Manfield’s finish at GP NY, I was even more excited about my list (even though it’s substantially different from Seth’s). Let me share my most recent changes with you and compare what I think are the relevant differences between mine and Manfield’s lists and why I think they’re acceptable.

 

First off, here’s my current list so we can compare openly:

2 Blighted Fen
2 Westvale Abbey
4 Shambling Vent
2 Forsaken Sanctuary
4 Caves of Koilos
4 Plains
8 Swamp
3 Gideon, Ally of Zendikar
2 Ob Nixilis Reignited
2 Sorin, Grim Nemesis
4 Secure the Wastes
4 Grasp of Darkness
2 Anguished Unmaking
3 Read the Bones
2 Ruinous Path
3 Languish
1 Dark Petition
1 Descend upon the Sinful
3 Transgress the Mind
2 Ayli, Eternal Pilgrim
2 Kalitas, Traitor of Ghet

//Sideboard
SB: 2 Duress
SB: 2 Hallowed Moonlight
SB: 2 Infinite Obliteration
SB: 1 Linvala, the Preserver
SB: 2 Pitiless Horde
SB: 2 Tainted Remedy
SB: 3 Thought-Knot Seer
SB: 1 Virulent Plague

So I made a number of changes from my last post. Some were a result of my own experiences, some were because of seeing Manfield’s list. For example, going up to 3 Languish was because of Manfield, but keeping the 1 “other” board wipe (moved from Planar Outburst to Descend upon the Sinful) was my own choice because I’ve encountered too many situations where Languish as a late-game top deck was frustratingly useless.

I also ditched “To the Slaughter” because I rarely got to cast it for value and without delirium it’s only good when your opponent’s board is “clean” which makes it mostly a “win more” card that becomes less useful the farther behind you are in terms of board state. I pulled “To the Slaughter” and a few other spells to make room for more Languish and Transgress the Mind. This gives me some main deck hand disruption and more board wipes (both of which seem crucial vs. the current meta).

My sideboard has experiences the most change. I added Duress, Virulent Plague, and Thought-Knot Seer. TKS is currently in the hot spot for potential removal as, in my very limited testing, I’ve often found it dead in my hand on turn 4-6 while waiting for a colorless source. That ends up being so frustrating and also useless that I feel like I’d be better off risking less hand disruption for a more reliably-castable spell.

The main differences between mine and Manfield’s list is that he runs more board wipes, more Planeswalkers, and fewer lands than I do. I respect Manfield’s results and his overall performance but I think 25 lands is too few for this deck. I can’t imagine dealing with 25 as I already find myself “stuck” on 3 or 4 or 5 lands when I want just a few more too often. The changes on numbers of planeswalkers are fine by me, but I prefer a slight decrease to make room for my other spells. I also recently dropped Declaration in Stone from my maindeck (and sideboard) but I feel like it needs a spot in the 75 somewhere. I’m still trying to figure out where.

I’ll be taking this list to a PPTQ this coming weekend and a GP soon after, so if you have any suggestions please let me know!

Leave a Reply

