EMN Game Day

So our local store runs two game day events each new set. The one on Saturday is a full rounds tournament with a cut to Top 8 and has the usual play mat, promos, and payouts based on attendance. The Sunday event is free and only pays out the playmat and promos typical of game day. On Saturday I played GW Tokens and did well but did not secure the play mat. I decided to have fun with the Sunday event and not worry about winning, so here’s what I played:

1 Dragonlord Silumgar
4 Sylvan Advocate
1 Den Protector
2 Kalitas, Traitor of Ghet
1 Seasons Past
2 Languish
2 Read the Bones
3 Dark Petition
2 Ruinous Path
2 Transgress the Mind
1 Pulse of Murasa
3 Grasp of Darkness
2 Ultimate Price
1 Silumgar's Command
4 Sunken Hollow
2 Llanowar Wastes
2 Yavimaya Coast
4 Evolving Wilds
4 Hissing Quagmire
1 Choked Estuary
4 Forest
4 Swamp
1 Island
4 Tree of Perdition
2 Tainted Remedy
1 Nissa's Renewal

//Sideboard
SB: 2 Summary Dismissal
SB: 2 Infinite Obliteration
SB: 4 Negate
SB: 2 Dispel
SB: 1 Seasons Past
SB: 1 Ob Nixilis Reignited
SB: 2 Duress
SB: 1 Triskaidekaphobia

The first thing you might notice is that this is basically a copy of the Sultai Seasons Pasts lists going around last May-ish with a few small, but hilarious, changes. The big cuts were Nissa, Vastwood Seer and Jace, Vryn’s Prodigy. They were easy to cut as I needed room for my ridiculous choices and I don’t own any flip Nissa or flip Jace and didn’t want to buy them just to mess with this list.

I’ll admit most of my wins were due to running really hot and getting some absolutely absurd top decks. There were only 12 players and the Sunday event is weirdly just 4 rounds with 1st place standing getting the play mat.

Round one was a match against the new UR burn list with Fevered Visions and Thermo-Alchemists. Game one he mulliganed to five cards, but still got me as I drew two languish, two ruinous paths, and mostly land after that. I got him in games two and three with the Tree of Perdition + Tainted Remedy combo as well as gaining tons of life off of Nissa’s Renewal.

Round two was UR Emerge (similar to Temurge but with less diversity). He got me game one as I could not keep my removal up with his small creatures and once he emerged the first Elder Deep Fiend with Sanctum of Ugin on the board it was basically the end. Games two and three I saw Infinite Obliteration in my opening hand both times and easily rode that to victory.

Round three was a BW Angel control list that, it turns out, loses pretty hard if you play Tainted Remedy on turn three and they can’t find Anguished Unmaking (well, he found it, after he was at two life). Gisela, Brisela, Kalitas, Shambling Vent all suck when I have Tainted Remedy out. We wrapped up game one after almost 30 minutes but he flooded out game two and I won quickly off the back of some early creatures.

Round four was a GB Delirium / Emrakul deck. He crushed me game one, but both game two and three I had timely Duress into Transgress into Infinite Obliteration and it was enough to get there.

I would never claim this deck is great / competitive – but it’s a ton of fun to occasionally kill your opponent with a tree.

Leave a Reply

