HOU URx Control

Okay, I once again forgot to update this blog, but I’ve been really excited by a URx control list I’ve been testing and wanted to share it. I have stayed away from UR control in AMK because I wanted to play UW so I could cast Approach of the Second Sun. It’s the most effective (although boring) alternative win cons I’ve seen in years and I had a lot of fun top 8-ing PPTQs with the deck (even if I didn’t win any of them).

However, I’ve moved to URx in a way that reliably lets me play both Nicol Bolas, God-Pharoh and Approach of the Second Sun. I haven’t finalized the 75 (in fact, I’ve not even figured out a sideboard because when I test with friends we allow ourselves to have virtually infinite sideboards at first and then whittle them down).

So here’s the list…

//Main
4 Aether Hub
4 Spirebluff Canal
4 Concealed Courtyard
4 Wandering Fumarole
6 Island
4 Mountain
4 Magma Spray
4 Harnessed Lightning
2 Abrade
2 Essence Scatter
3 Censor
2 Supreme Will
3 Disallow
4 Glimmer of Genius
3 Hour of Devastation
4 Torrential Gearhulk
2 Approach of the Second Sun
1 Nicol Bolas, God-Pharoh

So that’s it… The sideboard likely needs some number of Negates, a Sphinx of the Final Word, and some hate cards. I have no idea – testing this list has been a ton of fun. I might go down to 3 Magma Spray and up on one of the two or three CMC spells.

Anyways – I plan to run this at FNM…unfortunately no Standard tournaments near me anytime soon, but I might even take this list to the GPs I’m attending in August and September.

Leave a Reply

